Step 1:

English Language Requirement

If you were trained in a country that is not classed as a native English-speaking country, you’ll need to either pass the IELTS, with an overall score of at least 7, or the Occupational English Test (OET). 

Step 2:

Part 1 test of competence (CBT)

The test of competence (CBT) is based on standards for adult (general) nursing, children’s nursing, learning disabilities nursing, mental health nursing and midwifery. They cover professional values, communication, nursing decision-making and leadership.

Once you have passed the eligibility assessment, you will be asked to sit the first part of the test of competence. This will be a computer-based test of theoretical practice-based knowledge. The test format will be multiple choice and can be taken in test centres around the world. You will need to register with Pearson VUE, the test provider, to book and pay for the test.

The assessment

You will need to provide the following evidence in order for the NMC to complete an assessment:

  • a valid passport – this same document must also be presented at the OSCE test centre

  • birth certificate

  • a qualification certificate for each qualification being submitted as part of the application

  • registration certificates from each jurisdiction where you have practised and/or been registered – if your country operates
    state registration, you will need to have registered in each state where you have practised

  • Two employment references confirming you have at least 12 months post-registration practice, your competence and character

  • Verifications from all jurisdictions where you have practised or where you have been previously registered

  • Transcript of training for all relevant nursing or midwifery programmes completed by yourself. These must be calculated in hours or be
    accompanied by a letter from the training institution with a key to how the credits translate to hours

  • A good health declaration from your general practitioner or the occupational health department at your place of work

  • For every overseas country in which you have lived for more than three months, you will need to provide a police clearance certificate. If you have lived in the UK for more than three months, you will need to provide the NMC with a standard level Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) certificate

Once the NMC have completed your assessment and have confirmed you have met the minimum requirements to progress onto part 2 test of competence, you will be issued with an NMC decision letter.

Step 3:

Part 2 test of competence (OSCE)

The second part of the test is the objective structured clinical examination (OSCE). This can only be taken once in the UK at any of the NMC approved university test centres. The test involves acting out scenarios which nurses and midwives are likely to encounter when they assess, plan, carry out and evaluate care. Each separate clinical examination is known as a ‘station’ and you will visit all the stations within a set time.

Each of the six stations has standardised marking criteria against which you are assessed. You will be assessed by a panel of examiners and will be filmed for quality assurance purposes.

Step 4:

Admission onto the NMC register

Once you have successfully passed part 2 test of competence (OSCE), and have paid your registration fee you will receive your NMC pin in the post.

Click here for NMC registration:



Get in touch with us

Abbey Manor Business Centre
The Abbey, Preston Road.
Yeovil, Somerset
BA20 2EN

: REC Member

Drop us a message and we will get in touch with you as soon as we can.

Contact Us